zondag 22 januari 2017

John F. Kennedy -- 21 januari 1961

• Op 20 januari 1961 werd John F. Kennedy (1917-1963) beëdigd als president van de Verenigde Staten. Op 21 januari had hij het nogal druk: dit waren zijn afspraken.

The president's appointments
Saturday, january 21, 1961

After midnight - The President continued to make the rounds of the Inaugural Balls.

2:00 am - Arrived at the home of Joseph W. Alsop for private party. Among the guests were Mr. and Mrs. Earl E. T. Smith (Mr. Smith is former Ambassador to Cuba)

3:21 am - Departed home of Joseph W. Alsop and motored to the White House.

3:40 am - Arrived at the White House.

8:52 am - The President arrived in the office.

9:00 - 9:25 am - Hon. P. Kenneth O'Donnell (The President and Mr. O'Donnell visited the various offices on the first floor, then returned to the office).

9:25 - 9:45 am - Brig. General Andrew J. Goodpaster

9:45 - 9:55 am - Hon. Andrew Hatcher (With photographers - for picture-taking in the President's office)

10:00 am - The President went to the entrance of the West Lobby where he greeted Hon. Harry Truman

10:02 - 10:10 am - Hon. Harry Truman

10:10 am - The President and former President Truman went to the Mansion.

10:24 am - The President returned to the office.

10:41 - 10:55 am - To the Mansion. Returned to the office at 10:55 am.

11:00 - 11:06 am - Mayor and Mrs. Richard Daley Chicago, Illinois and children: Patricia, 22 Mary, 21 Eleanor, 19 Michael, 17 Bül, 13 John, 13 (Picture taken with the President)

11:06 - 11:15 am - Hon. Theodore Sorenson Special Counsel to the President
Hon. Myer Feldman Deputy Assistant to the Special Counsel

11:15 - 11:17 am - Hon. P. Kenneth O'Donnell
Mr. William J. Hopkin» Executive Clerk of the White House

11:30 - 11:40 am - Dr. Janet G. Travell

11:45 - 12:08 pm - Mr. John Bailey
Hon. P. Kenneth O'Donnell

12:08 - 12:20 pm - Hon. P. Kenneth O'Donnell
Hon. Ralph Dungan Special Assistant to the President
Hon. Lawrence O'Brien Special Assistant to the President

12:55 pm - The President departed the White House and motored to the Democratie National Committee for meeting.

1:00 - 1:40 pm - At the Democratie National Committee Headquarters.

1:45 pm - Returned to the White House.

4:00 pm - The President went to the East Room of the Mansion for the Swearing-in Ceremony for Cabinet Members. The following were sworn in:
Hon. Dean Rusk  - Secretary of State
Hon. C. Douglas Dillon - Secretary of the Treasury
Hon. Robert B. McNamara - Secretary of Defense
Hon. Robert F. Kennedy - The Attorney General
Hon. J. Edward Day - The Postmaster General
Hon. Stewart L. Udall - Secretary of the Interior
Hon. Orville L. Freeman - Secretary of Agriculture
Hon. Luther H. Hodges - Secretary of Commerce
Hon. Arthur J. Goldberg - Secretary of Labor
Hon. Abraham A. Ribicoff - Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare
Hon. Adlai E. Stevenson - United States Ambassador to the United Nations
Members of the aboves' families attended the ceremony.

7:00 pm - The President departed the White House and motored to the Statler Hotel to attend the Alfalfa Club Dinner.

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten